English
Search
K

Tasks

This feature is only enabled for customers that subscribe to Moment Essential and above.
Tasks in Moment can be used to define certain objectives or necessary steps within a project then what is possible with activities. For a general overview of functionality of tasks in Moment, you can see this video:
The possibilities are many. In this article we will first give a general overview of how to set up tasks and how to use them in a workflow. The second part of the article will deal with how you can allocate resources using tasks.

General overview

In order to use tasks you will have to enable them in your company settings. Go to Setup > Settings > General > Modules. Tick the box for "Tasks"
This will enable a new tab in your Moment called "tasks".
Fom this window you will be able to create, assign and move around tasks. First you need to create a task. Click "new task". This will give you the following window:
When you choose a project Moment will add existent project member. You can also assign the task to new co-workers and add them as project members if you wish. You will have to add an activity that this task will be a part of.
Once the task has been created you will be able to see in the tasks overview which has a standard board view by default.
The fields with the blue plus icon come from the standard view for tasks in Moment. By default this is set to be based in the creation/overdue date.
Alternatively, You can also choose a tag group that you can use. The tags and activities can be used to organize the tasks view. In order for the tag group correctly, you need to tag your different tasks. Once this is done, click in tag group in the tab "standard view". As the task progresses through its life cycle, you can move it from tag to tag much like you can in other programs that use Kanban views such as Trello.

Company settings and Setup

Under Company > Settings > Setup > Tasks, you will find the default settings for all tasks. All options here will apply to all new tasks created.
What the different options mean:
Enable support for tasks
Use estimated time on tasks
Automatically update project plan with planned hours on tasks
Use planning by days
Use recurring tasks (BETA)
This option enables or disables the Task overview from the headline on projects. With this activated, you will not be able to use the task board, or see task calendar, planning or reports. Having this enabled is essential for certain other task-options to work. When deactivated, tasks can still be made under "Activities".
This allows tasks to have the option to show "estimated time". When activated, estimated time for tasks will show up in the task report on the project page. This function can be useful for tracking the hours you plan on a project and when assigning resources to a project's tasks. When this is deactivated, the task report will not show estimated hours, and only go by actual reserved and assigned hours for your employees.
Requires "Enable support for tasks" to be active. When activated, all planned hours assigned through the "Planning" tab under "Tasks" will be automatically added to the project plan. This does not automatically add any hours assigned before function was activated.
Requires "Enable support for tasks" to be active.
When activated, gives you the "Planning" tab for tasks. Here, you will be able to see, plan and assign specific tasks on a day-to-day basis for your project members, as well as assign how many hours for each task. This planner will also show the amount of available hours for each project member.
Note that this is a beta function. With this option, you will be able to set a task as recurring on the task's main page. Recurring tasks will follow a ruleset chosen by you of when it's gonna be repeated. See Recurring tasks for a guide on how this works.
Default description
Use formal due date on tasks in addition to due date
Use start date on tasks
Set start date on tasks based on first hour registered
This box corresponds to the default task description for all new tasks. This is a great option if you want to add standard templates for lists that needs to be customized for new tasks, and has good formatting options and image & ULR-support.
How to use: By default, all new tasks will have a blank description when created. When the v Task description tab is unfolded when creating a new task, the company level default text for tasks will show and be added to the created task. Task descriptions are can be edited here or whenever after the task has been created, but the company template settings will be unaffected.
Description TBA
Description TBA
When activated, the start date of the task will be the first date an employee registered hours to the task. This can be manually changed afterwards if necessary on the task front page.
This function will only work as long as no start date has already been set on the task, and any new registered hours before the current start-date will not overwrite the applied date.

Task settings and options

Tags
Customer Requests
Checklists
Task Description
Add a comment
A task can be a part of one or several task groups. You can add additional tasks from either the board view or the task itself
You can attach a customer request to a task. This could be some extra work that has to be done, or a service that needs to be provided. Maybe a support request or something similar. Information about the customer can the request can be added when you click "New Request"
If you have the Quality Management module enabled under general settings in Moment, you will have the ability to attach pre-made checklists to the task
Here you can add a description about the task. This could include possible challenges, resources that might need to be allocated and the purpose of the task.
This feature allows you to write a comment in the task. When the task is updated with a comment, the task asignees will receive a notification per e-mail regarding the comment and a link to the task in Moment.

Last modified 1yr ago